BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY OF KITTITAS COUNTY STATE OF WASHINGTON

RE	ESO	LUT	ION	NO.	
RE	ESO	LUT	ION	NO.	

Resolution Setting Fees for Solid Waste Disposal

WHEREAS: The Kittitas County Board of Commissioners has the responsibility of managing the countywide Solid Waste System under terms of the RCW 70A.205, RCW 36.58 and the Joint Solid Waste Disposal System Agreement of March 12, 1979; and

WHEREAS: The Joint Solid Waste Disposal System Agreement provides for the system to be operated on user fees and that the County Board of Commissioners are obligated to set disposal rates as necessary to cover expenses from user fees; and

WHEREAS: RCW 36.58.040 allows for a County to have full jurisdiction and authority to manage, regulate, maintain, utilize, operate, control and establish the rates and charges for those solid waste handling systems, plants, sites, or other facilities

WHEREAS: RCW 36.58.020 allows the Board of County Commissioners to make such rules and regulations as may be deemed necessary for the use and occupation of such sites and may provide for the maintenance and care thereof.

WHEREAS: It has been determined that a fee increase is needed due to increased disposal costs associated with Waste Management's CPI increase and the increase in operation costs.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: That the Board of County Commissioners does hereby adopt the following Fee Schedule. Effective October 1, 2024. This does not change any other rates not listed currently charged by the Solid Waste Department.

*MSW Tipping Fee \$158.00.00per ton (New)

\$ 10.00 minimum

*Yard Waste \$86.40 per ton (New)

\$ 8.00 minimum

*Contaminated yard waste will be charged as MSW rate.

*Construction /Demolition Waste

At Ryegrass Landfill \$ 15.00 per yard (New)

Dirt at Ryegrass with waste certification\$ 9.00 per yard

Concrete Maximum size 2'x2'x6" \$ 20.00 per yard (New)

At Ellensburg Transfer Station \$88.14 per ton (New)

\$ 8.00 minimum

At Cle Elum Transfer Station \$107.62 per ton (New)

\$ 8.00 minimum

*Dump trucks with over a ton with an account must haul direct to Ryegrass

Appliances with CFC Refrigerants \$35.00 per appliance + weight

Liquid Waste \$.28 per gallon (New)

Tires

Passenger Tires w/o Garbage \$260.00 per ton (New)

Passenger Tires with Garbage \$ 3.00 per tire

Truck Tires \$ 10.00 per tire (New)

Implement/Tractor \$ 30.00 per tire (New) Heavy Equipment \$ 85.00 per tire (New)

Sale of Compost/fine \$ 75.00 per ton Residential Vehicles

Sale of Compost \$55.00 per ton Contractors,

Farms/Nurseries/Landscapers

Sale of Mulch/coarse compost \$40.00 per ton

Sale of Compost \$ 4.00 minimum(New)

Additional Cards for

Charge Customers \$ 7.00 per each(New)

Insufficient Fund Customers \$ 35.00 each for cash transaction not paid by the end of

the business day.

NSF Checks \$45.00 processing fee

Unsecured load fee \$10.00 (New)

All persons using a county owned and operated solid waste disposal system facility shall pay the service fees set forth in the solid waste service fee schedule. The solid waste service fee schedule and any revisions to the service fee schedule shall be prepared by the Director and submitted to the Board of County Commissioners for approval. The solid waste service fee schedule will be based on full cost recovery standards.

Listed fees are subject to applicable taxes. The director or designated employee shall, at the time of payment, round the total service fees and taxes owing up to the nearest whole dollar when any fraction of a dollar owing is \$.50 or greater, and round the total service fees and taxes owing down to the nearest whole dollar when any fraction of a dollar owing is less than \$.50.

Credit and Debit cards will be assessed an additional 3% processing fee.

ALL FEES AND CHARGES, including existing fees and charges not changed by this resolution, are subject to accrual and application of interest at the rate of 18% when more than 30 days past due.

Dated this	day of August 2024	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY WASHINGTON
		Brett Wachsmith, Chairman
		Laura Osiadacz, Vice Chairman
		Cory Wright, Commissioner
ATTEST:		APPROVED AS TO FORM:
☐ Clerk of the	Board- Julie Kjorsvik	Douglas R. Mitchell, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

☐ Deputy Clerk of the Board- Mandy Buchholz